SRNL Logo SRNL and DOE logo art
Top Menu Bar  
















SRNL Awards - August 2008 to August 2009

Dr. Mac Louthan, Jr. recognized for distinguished career studying hydrogen effects on materials at the 2008 International Hydrogen ConferenceDr. Mac Louthan Jr, SRNL Consulting Scientist Emeritus was recognized for his distinguished career studying “Hydrogen Effects on Materials” at the 2008 International Hydrogen Conference jointly sponsored by ASM International and ASME. He was honored with the recognition at the conference banquet.

Dr. Carol Jantzen elected Distinguished Life Membership in the American Ceramic SocietyDr. Carol Jantzen of SRNL has been elected by the Board of Trustees of the American Ceramic Society (ACerS) for elevation to Distinguished Life Membership in ACerS. Distinguished Life Membership is the Society's most prestigious level of membership and is awarded in recognition of a member's contribution to the ceramics profession. In over 75 years, only 130 people have been selected for this recognition. She will be recognized at the ACerS 110th annual meeting in October.

Bond Calloway received the first ever AIChE Herbert Eptstein Award for meritorious contributions in revitalizing the Nuclear Engineering DivisionBond Calloway of SRNL was selected to receive the American Institute of Chemical Engineers’ Herbert Epstein Award, presented to an individual for meritorious contributions to AIChE’s technical programming efforts and demonstrated dedication to the profession of chemical engineering. Bond was recognized for the revitalization of AIChE’s Nuclear Engineering division and for designing and leading an institute-wide energy research survey. The survey results were published in a March 2008 Chemical Engineering Progress article “What are Chemical Engineers doing about Energy” and in AIChE’s 100th Anniversary book. The award is given in memory of Dr. Herbert Epstein, a noted chemical engineer and Shell Global Solutions Operational Excellence portfolio manager.

Dr. Max Gorensek elected Fellow of the AIChEDr. Max Gorensek of SRNL was recently elected a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). This distinction is awarded by the Board of Directors of the AIChE in recognition of professional attainment and significant accomplishment in the field of chemical engineering. Dr. Gorensek, who is immediate past chair of AIChE's Nuclear Engineering Division, will be presented with his Fellow certificate and pin at the Fellows Breakfast on Nov. 18 at the upcoming AIChE Annual Meeting in Philadelphia.

Dr. Linda Nichols received the DOE Secretary’s Achievement Award for work on national securityLinda Nichols of SRNL was selected by Secretary of Energy Samuel Bodman to receive the Secretary’s Achievement Award, which is bestowed upon a group or team of DOE employees or contractors who together accomplished significant achievements on behalf of the Department, as part of the annual Secretary's Honor Awards. The Secretary's Honor Awards are the highest internal non-monetary recognition that DOE employees and contractors can receive.
Nichols received her award as a member of a team that included personnel from the DOE National Nuclear Security Administration's Office of Nonproliferation Research and Development, DOE Office of Intelligence and Counterintelligence, and Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Their project focused on reducing the threat to national security posed by the proliferation of nuclear weapons.

Blythe Ashcraft works in one of SRNL's labsBlythe Ashcraft of SRNL was given an American Chemical Society Younger Chemists Committee Leadership Award to attend the 2009 American Chemical Society Leadership Development Workshop. Twenty-six younger chemists from around the nation were invited to attend the three-day workshop in Ft. Worth, Texas. The recipients represented industry, government, and academia. In addition to attending sessions specifically tailored to younger chemists, Blythe attended two leadership classes on effective communication and mentoring.




Dr. John Steimke elected AIChE Fellow and also received the AIChE Shining Star Award for leadership efforts at the local AIChE levelThe American Institute of Chemical Engineers selected Dr. John L. Steimke of SRNL's Engineering Development Laboratory as an AIChE Fellow. To attain the grade of Fellow, one has to have been practicing chemical engineering for at least 25 years, shall be in grade of Senior Member of AIChE for at least three years and have demonstrated significant contribution to the profession. No more than five percent of the professional members of AIChE can have the grade of Fellow. Dr. Steimke began his career at SRNL in 1977 and became a Fellow Engineer in July 1992. He is a Licensed Professional Engineer in the State of South Carolina, the author of several external publications and a past winner of the Westinghouse President’s Award and Signature Award of Excellence. Recently Dr. Steimke was chosen for the Shining Star Award (formerly Volunteer of Year) by the local chapter of AIChE. He has held AIChE officer positions in the local section including chair, vice chair, secretary and director.

Dan Krementz, Jeff Coughlin, Bob Milling, and Mike Dalmaso with SRS team received White House Closing the Circle Honorable Mention Award for DWPF remote gasket removal/replacementThe Savannah River National Laboratory and the Defense Waste Processing Facility (DWPF) at the Savannah River Site were honored by the White House for an innovative environmental initiative that reduces contaminated waste requiring disposal and eliminates the need for people to enter a high-radiation area of the waste processing facility. The initiative – the development and deployment of a new remote gasket removal and replacement tool – earned the team an honorable mention in the annual White House Closing the Circle Awards, which recognize outstanding environmental stewardship at federal civilian and military facilities. Team members were: Greg Lawson, James Gee, Brian Metzger, Darryl Perry, Rickey Jackson, and Leonard Perry (of DWPF) and Dan Krementz, Jeff Coughlin, Bob Milling, and Mike Dalmaso (of SRNL).

Dr. Chris Bannochie elected ACS FellowDr. Christopher J. Bannochie was recently notified that he had been selected for the 2009 class of Fellows of the American Chemical Society. This is the inaugural group of Fellows for the society. The ACS Fellows Program was created by the Board of Directors in December 2008 “to recognize members of the American Chemical Society for outstanding achievements in and contributions to Science, the Profession, and the Society.” The distinguished honor of a Fellows designation goes to those who have distinguished themselves in multiple areas, including promoting the science, the profession, and service to the American Chemical Society. Ultimately, the body of Fellows is intended to reach approximately 1-2% of ACS membership.



Return to Top of Page

<< Latest Award Winners                                  Previous Award Winners >>


Last updated: October 6, 2009

Savannah River Nuclear Solutions, LLC logo

SRNL is managed
and operated for the U.S. Department of Energy by
River Nuclear Solutions, LLC

U.S. Department of Energy